This is not ok!

Discussion of the Genuine Buddy, Hooligan, Black Jack and other topics, both scooter related and not

Moderator: Modern Buddy Staff

mcwbyu82

This is not ok!

Post by mcwbyu82 »

I have been very dissapointed to hear all the reports of oil filters and drain plugs "working there way loose" lately. I worked as a lube mechanic at my school for three years. I performed about 80 -100 oil changes a month and in the three years I worked there we had 1 drain plug fall out (and that was because my co-worker admittedly did not tighten the plug) We did changes on everything from normal cars/trucks, to semis and heavy equipment, to small tractors and golf carts.
If this is really happening this often something IS WRONG. We have a large community here and we should take action before anyone has to fork out the money for a rebuild or replacement.
My wife is beautiful!
ericalm
Site Admin

Post by ericalm »

The question is really whether these problems are due to faulty parts or manufacturing or improper replacement/installation. It seems like most of the incidents reported here are due to the latter, whether it was the dealer, a mechanic or the rider at fault.

I'm certainly not going to play the role of Genuine/PGO/Buddy apologist here, but I'm having trouble seeing how they're at fault. Genuine may need to ensure their dealers' mechs are better informed about these parts and any specific issues with the Buddy... but what other "action" do you think needs to be taken?
Eric // LA Scooter Meetup Group // Stella 4T // Vespa LX // Vespa LXS // Honda Helix // some, uh, projects…
mcwbyu82

Post by mcwbyu82 »

I totally agree that if the problems are due to mechanic error then nothing really needs to be done. I guess the point I was getting at is I find it hard to believe that that many mechanics/owners are so incompetent. If designed correctly both a plug and filter should take nothing more then righty tighty, lefty loosey.
My wife is beautiful!
ericalm
Site Admin