been part of a scooter train?

Discussion of the Genuine Buddy, Hooligan, Black Jack and other topics, both scooter related and not

Moderator: Modern Buddy Staff

bigbropgo

been part of a scooter train?

Post by bigbropgo »

On another forum a poster told a story about having a long train of cars behind his 50 cc scoot. And how he was feeling bad or whatever. And how it made his day to see another scooter train coming in the opposite direction. Funny story. But I wondered how most people handle this situation. Pull over? Hold tight and stay on course? Give em the bird? I'm sure each state has laws that vary. But lets assume you are going the posted speed limit on a non freeway/expressway. Non scooter restricted roadway. I have pulled over before, I have also been traveling over the posted and still had people ridin me. And I didn't pull over.

This isn't a "those crazy cagers " thread. Just interested in others opinions. :D
no i don't ride a scooter, i am a scooter pilot!
VICTUS MORTUUS VENATOR
jmkjr72

Post by jmkjr72 »

as long as im doing the speed limit +- 5 mph piss on them i hold my postion in the lane
z 2008 zuma 50
olive 2008 setlla
1979 tomos
PeteH

Post by PeteH »

Remember, though, that Buddy speedo reads maybe 5%, 10% or more high, so 45mph indicated is likely < 40mph actual.

It's a good idea to use a GPS to find out how yours actually behaves.
JHScoot

Post by JHScoot »

i would not want to ride a scooter not capable of easily maintaining 50mph in traffic. and getting there with decent acceleration, too

that said, idk? i feel like as long as i am at the speed limit people are welcome to go around me. but if it were a one lane road (two way) and i were going along at 35mph in a 40 or 45mph zone? i think i would move over. maybe ride the scoot on the side of the road like a moped / bicycle

can't say i have ever been part of a "scooter train," though. and i certainly wouldn't want to lead one. i'd be happy being the caboose :)
Riding is riding