[NSR] Photography Old vs New School

Discussion of the Genuine Buddy, Hooligan, Black Jack and other topics, both scooter related and not

Moderator: Modern Buddy Staff

pcbikedude

[NSR] Photography Old vs New School

Post by pcbikedude »

I've been using a digital camera for about 7 years now. I've used several cameras Fuji, Vivitar, Canon, and Sanyo and I have not been satisfied with the color reproduction. Doesn't matter what the megapixels, there's just some light and color subtleties that aren't there.

Before I went on vacation last year, I broke out my old Pentax K1000 (35mm) but discovered that it was no longer functioning.

Now I have the picture bug again. I want to take my scooter(s) to various places in town and snap a few pics off. But I think I want to get away from digital and go 35mm again. I sent my K1000 to the repair shop for a minor overhaul.
The scenery only changes for the lead scooterist.
Syd

Post by Syd »

I used to shoot a lot in my younger days, but I cut way back as I started wanting to just own cameras more than take pictures with them. The day Kodak announced they would no longer produce 127 film was a sad day for me (not that any of the 127 cameras I owned were ever used, mind you, but I always had in my mind that I *could* use them. When my Minolta XGM broke I pretty much quit all together.

Then the pro-sumer digital SLR came around. I sold all the best of my collection to get some of the money needed - I convinced myself to buy the Canon 10D because I had a Canon Rebel and a couple pieces of glass - but ended up with the 20D because it came out that week. So you could say that digital got me back on the horse.

What I like is the ease of image manipulation in the digital format. All the darkroom tricks the master printmakers have are available to the least gifted of us (me!) without needing to dedicate a room specifically for that purpose.
The majority is always sane - Nessus
Lotrat

Re: [NSR] Photography Old vs New School