did i overheat

Discussion of the Genuine Buddy, Hooligan, Black Jack and other topics, both scooter related and not

Moderator: Modern Buddy Staff

dannomann

did i overheat

Post by dannomann »

Hi everyone. I have just been luking here because I am new to scootering and have just had a buddy 125 for a month now. I had the first service performed on Saturday. Rode a couple of miles home and later around the neighborhood. She seemed to be running as good as always. When I checked the oil I think they overfilled it as it is all the way at the top of the hashed area. They are a Harley dealership that is certified to work on Genuine.

The problem is Sunday I when for a long ride. It was kind of hot out and I stopped once but only very briefly. I rode kind of hard and for probably over an hour. Then going downhill she died on me. She would not start up right away. After a little while i got her started and rode another couple miles before she died again. I was at a safer place and let her sit about 15 min. Then I rode a couple of more miles to a park where she died again. Parked in the shade and waited 30 min. Then she seem to run just fine but I took a long break to get something to eat and drink on my way home.

I was riding her a bit hard hitting 50 and 60 indicated on some roads. I feel bad that I may have pushed my sweet girl too hard. Is it just overheating? Is this really bad? And should I take just a little of the oil out so it is not overfull? When I got her the oil was in the high part of the hashed area.
Dooglas

Post by Dooglas »