Carburetor Cleaning?

Discussion of the Genuine Buddy, Hooligan, Black Jack and other topics, both scooter related and not

Moderator: Modern Buddy Staff

berryjames74

Carburetor Cleaning?

Post by berryjames74 »

Hey all......anyone know of a step by step instructional on how to clean the carb on a buddy 150? I am a novice with mechanics and I believe that my carb is plugged after sitting for the winter/summer....Thanks!
bigbropgo

Post by bigbropgo »

I am posting this without really looking around here for myself. But YouTube has a couple that might help. Even if its a different scoot, the motors are close enough to work.
no i don't ride a scooter, i am a scooter pilot!
VICTUS MORTUUS VENATOR
bigbropgo

Post by bigbropgo »

On second look, its the first post in the technical library. 8)
no i don't ride a scooter, i am a scooter pilot!
VICTUS MORTUUS VENATOR
ericalm
Site Admin

Post by ericalm »

Here's the link:
topic17556.html

Be careful with the 4 Philips screws on the bottom of the carb (float bowl screws), they're a bit soft and I managed to strip one of mine when doing this! My dealer says the Buddy toolkit screwdriver is actually a good size for these.
Eric // LA Scooter Meetup Group // Stella 4T // Vespa LX // Vespa LXS // Honda Helix // some, uh, projects…
ScooterTrash

Post by ScooterTrash »

ericalm wrote:Here's the link:
topic17556.html

Be careful with the 4 Philips screws on the bottom of the carb (float bowl screws), they're a bit soft and I managed to strip one of mine when doing this! My dealer says the Buddy toolkit screwdriver is actually a good size for these.
:D beat me to it
djelliott

Post by djelliott »

topic17556.html

It's a good idea to replace them with some good quality hex bolts. It'll make it a lot easier next time you have to open it.
Prima pipe
UNI filter
125 Main Jet
2000RPM Stall Spring
1500RPM Clutch Springs
Dr. Pulley Variator with 11 Gram Sliders
NCY Front Forks
Prima/NCY 161cc Big Bore kit With 150 Head