Too big for a 170i?

Discussion of the Genuine Buddy, Hooligan, Black Jack and other topics, both scooter related and not

Moderator: Modern Buddy Staff

drhurricane36

Too big for a 170i?

Post by drhurricane36 »

I'm and total newbie in the scooter world but I'm excited to take the leap. Went shopping yesterday and really like the green 170i. I'm 6'2" and concerned I may be too big. I was also looking at the Vespa 300. I fit better on it but it did seem to lose that scooter feeling. And a nice perk I'm looking for in a scooter is the ability to park just about anywhere:). Not sure I could get away with that on the 300. Any taller riders with insight? And happy to take in any scooter recommendations from the experts.
Many Thanks!
issue31

To Big

Post by issue31 »

:D I am also 6'2 265 lbs and have a new 170 sense the first of april. So far it has handled me with no problems. I did check the tires, they were both at 35 lbs. Ride was a little rough. Took the front downn to 25 and the rear to 30, quite a difference! :lol: I take it up and down hills in the Mississipy valleys around here. issue31 John
GrittyTacoman

Post by GrittyTacoman »

I'm 6' 4" and have been happy with the Buddy. I can ride it without my knees hitting the front but I'd sit on one to make sure for yourself.

As far as Buddy vs. 300, it seems like the consensus is that the Buddy is more nimble and fun to ride and can't be beat for in-city riding. Obviously 300 can go faster and would be much better for 2-up riding, but you'd lose some of the feel of a smaller-wheeled scoot.

I am considering a larger scoot eventually but only because I'd like something my wife and I can ride together. Buddy has been great for now.
TVB

Re: Too big for a 170i?

Post by TVB »

drhurricane36 wrote:And a nice perk I'm looking for in a scooter is the ability to park just about anywhere:). Not sure I could get away with that on the 300.