Riding with pets

Discussion of the Genuine Buddy, Hooligan, Black Jack and other topics, both scooter related and not

Moderator: Modern Buddy Staff

thebirdandtheb

Riding with pets

Post by thebirdandtheb »

I know, I know. Taking your pet on the scooter isn't everyone's cup of tea. However, I have no car, live in a very urban city, and sometimes want to take my dog to the dog park/vet.

I have a buddy 50. I also have two cats, and I've recently had to take a cat to the very and I have a backpack carrier type thing. It worked fine for the cat, but my dog is terrified of it, and frankly I don't feel super secure with the dog in it.

Any ideas? My dog is smallish. About 13 pounds. I was thinking about one of those carriers that you strap to your front. Anyone have experience with those or any other ideas? Thanks!
47909Rider

Post by 47909Rider »

I've got no personal experience, but I have seen several people here in my city carrying their small dogs on a scooter using one of those chest pouch things that you describe.

Make sure you get the dog some goggles. They make dog-specific ones, just do a Google search for "doggles."
HowHH

Post by HowHH »

There are at least a couple of vloggers on youtube whose dogs obediently stand on the flat floorboard of the scooter while traveling. They do seem to enjoy it.
KrispyKreme

Post by KrispyKreme »

What do you think the pet carrier is for?
OldGuy

Post by OldGuy »

I met a couple who travelled by scooter with a small dog in a top case on the rear rack. The case was similar to a Shad or other common cases. They had cut a large hole in the top so the dog could poke his (her?) head out (and get air!), and added an attachment inside for a short leash so doggie couldn't jump out.

Seems like not a bad way to go.
1971 Hodaka Ace 100
1977 Suzuki GT250 is now sold... Good bike!
1980 Yamaha IT125
Honda: '66 CT90 KO; '83 CT110; '92 CT70; 2001 XR250
and 1 or 2 others... I need to sell some bikes!
KABarash

Post by KABarash »