Lost acceleration, sputtered, and died. Thoughts on a cause?

Discussion of the Genuine Buddy, Hooligan, Black Jack and other topics, both scooter related and not

Moderator: Modern Buddy Staff

rower

Lost acceleration, sputtered, and died. Thoughts on a cause?

Post by rower »

Hi All,

Newbie here. Let me start by saying Shiva, my scooter, has been my faithful companion for the past three months. (Buddy 50, Bought her brand new, now have 800 miles on it). I love her dearly and we're hardly separated. I have no idea what happened and I don't know how to fix it (well, I'm taking it to the shop but ultimately I want to learn how to fix this myself) but I'd looking for advice on what others may think could have happened?

Yesterday, I drove into work ~7 miles and everything was totally normal. I left to go home and was sitting in traffic, but once the road opened up I noticed I was having trouble accelerating - like MAJOR deficit compared to normal. Full throttle and I'm watching my odometer drop down, 35....30....25....... then I throw on my hazards and move to the side of the road because I have no idea what's happening. I took my hand off the throttle and started to brake (just a quick squeeze at first), when I released the break it made a "WHRRRRRRMMM" noise and surged forward. I hit the brakes again and then the kill switch.

Once on the sidewalk out of traffic, I could put the key in and got battery power, but no electric start, no kick start, nothing.

I'm in Boston so my thoughts were maybe something to do with the gas line? But it was about 55* yesterday, and I drove into work just fine despite the cold happening over night. (Stored in a shed at home, garage at work.)

I put oil in her on Saturday, I had about 1/3 a tank of gas. All systems seemed go, and now? Nothing. I'm heartbroken until tomorrow when I can get into the shop.