Buddy 125 cruiser mods?

Discussion of the Genuine Buddy, Hooligan, Black Jack and other topics, both scooter related and not

Moderator: Modern Buddy Staff

GoSlash27

Buddy 125 cruiser mods?

Post by GoSlash27 »

Hi all.
I picked up a Buddy 125 for my GF (she's short) so she can ride with us on cruises.

We often run 2 lane highway where the speed limit is 55mph and traffic flows at about 62mph. I'm looking for recommendations on the best ways to speed up her little scoot while keeping it reliable. I've personally had it up to 64, but it's a bit weak to hold that speed with varying grades and winds.
I'm an experienced mechanic and have a decent shop in my garage. Any recommendations? Thoughts on the Prima 161cc jug kit?

Thanks,
-Slashy
cummingsjc

Post by cummingsjc »

See this thread that is currently going (and was actually only two down from your new thread in the postings list) :

http://www.modernbuddy.com/forum/topic30483.html

The consensus seems to be that the BBK and other performance upgrades will help with additional top speed but they generally tend to wear out faster than stock parts and reduce MPG. The other consensus seems to be that if you want more speed then buying and modifying a Buddy 125 is probably not the best or most cost efficient way to get there.
sc00ter

Post by sc00ter »

I sold both of my Buddy 125's to the same guy, and on the first one, we found a up-gear (reduction box) combo that worked. Took a teeny tiny bit off the bottom end takeoff but put about 10mph more at the top. It was a lot of numbers crunching and parts diagram searching, plus we had to have a bearing pressed on at the machine shop. I gave him the service manual and I think the gear tooth counts and part numbers are/should be written in the notes section. We also spent a bit of time with tuning rollers before settling on the final weights. If I go by his house I will check the manual and see if its listed in the notes section.
paracer

Post by paracer »