newbie here - Questions about buying a used 2004 125.

Discussion of the Genuine Buddy, Hooligan, Black Jack and other topics, both scooter related and not

Moderator: Modern Buddy Staff

drewh111

newbie here - Questions about buying a used 2004 125.

Post by drewh111 »

I have the itch to get a scooter. Want something that will carry two people and groceries for around town. I am thinking a 125 would be right, 150 is probably more than I need.

I think the Buddy's look like a great choice and will likely look for a used one. I am very mechanical and can easily fix and rebuild things if I can get parts.

So, I am looking at a 2004 125. What should I look for and maximum miles you would consider? There is also a 2009 Blackjack that has 29k miles and needs a ton of work for about the same price. How is it getting parts for an older one.

thanks for any input you might have!
a2dmusic

Post by a2dmusic »

I know this isn't actually in answer to the questions you asked but... you mention that you want to be able to carry a passenger.

The Buddy is a great scooter, but whether it'll be good for two or not will depend on your height and how it's distributed. I'm 6'1", and there's no chance I could take on a passenger rider because a lot of that height is in my legs. If I sit far enough forward to allow for another rider, I can't turn the handlebars at lower speeds because my knees are in the way of the turning radius. So I have to sit back farther and forgo the second rider.

Obviously YMMV -- I'm on the bigger-guy end of the spectrum, with longer legs. But bear that in mind!
drewh111

Post by drewh111 »

useful feedback actually. Would you say that has to do with the design of the Buddy?

I am just under 6 ft. We rode a bunch of smallish scooters in Indonesia and could both fit but not super comfortable.
Remous

Re: newbie here - Questions about buying a used 2004 125.

Post by Remous »

drewh111 wrote: