Purchasing used buddy 50 that smokes up badly. Run away?

Discussion of the Genuine Buddy, Hooligan, Black Jack and other topics, both scooter related and not

Moderator: Modern Buddy Staff

venmike

Purchasing used buddy 50 that smokes up badly. Run away?

Post by venmike »

Hi all,
I found a killer deal on a used 2008 buddy 50 with 3k Miles for $350
It’s in decent shape and runs. Howver, the motor smokes up pretty badly.
The owner says she let it sit for a good while without starting it. She says it has old gas, and carbs probably need to be cleaned. How reliable are these motors? Does her story add up? Is it fairly easy to clean the carbs ?

I also notice that the hose that connects to the fuel filter is broken, and there’s a gaping hole in the filter. I’m not sure if these are the correct terms, as I’m not technically savvy.

Should I pick this thing up?
cummingsjc

Post by cummingsjc »

Personally, I would buy it in a heartbeat for that price with the discrepancies that you mention. The smoke will normally go away after you burn out the gunk in the engine with a longish ride. Everything else should be easily repairable. Ensure that the bike's frame seems straight and everything tracks true if you give it a ride.

Buddy's are very easy bikes to resurrect after they have sat for a few years. And, Buddy 50's are some of the best 2-stroke 50's that you can buy.
venmike

Post by venmike »

Guys I need help!
I purchased it, but it’s smoking up so badly when I ride!!!! Massive smoke, and smells like something is burning. It runs fine, idles fine.
But the smoke is ridiculous, and making me sick when I ride it.
What could possibly be causing this much smoke from the tail pipe? Could the motor be shot??
skully93

Post by skully93 »

venmike wrote:Guys I need help!
I purchased it, but it’s smoking up so badly when I ride!!!! Massive smoke, and smells like something is burning. It runs fine, idles fine.
But the smoke is ridiculous, and making me sick when I ride it.