Project w/photos: Underseat charger pigtail

Discussion of the Genuine Buddy, Hooligan, Black Jack and other topics, both scooter related and not

Moderator: Modern Buddy Staff

eggsalad

Project w/photos: Underseat charger pigtail

Post by eggsalad »

I poked around here a bit looking for something like this and didn't find it, so I thought I'd share what I did to add a battery charger pigtail to my Buddy 150. Will also apply to a 125, and maybe to a 170i, but you'll need to modify the idea for a 50 (you'll see why). Please be gentle with me, this is my first project post here!

Basic idea is I wanted to add a charger pigtail to my 150, and I wanted it under the seat - out of the weather, and so I don't need tools to hook up the charger when I want to use it. I'm going to assume you have some basic vehicle electrics knowledge, and if you don't, please ask for help!

First, open the seat and take out the 4@M6 bolts (10mm head) holding the seat bucket in place. Then lift the bucket out. You'll see something like this:

Inside that red circle is the battery positive (+) side of the starter solenoid/relay. Flip up that red cover and there's an M6 nut (10mm head). Take that off and put the (+) red ring terminal for the charger pigtail on the post and replace the nut.

The negative wire is going under the ground bolt circled in green. I needed to extend it - I used heat-shrink butt-splice crimp connectors. Pull that bolt out and add the charger pigtail ring terminal to the other wires bolted there and reinstall the bolt.

Then use the existing wire management to route the pigtail towards the gas tank.

Now to route the pigtail to the inside of the seat bucket.

Inside the red circle is (what I believe to be) the dummy plug for where the oil tank fill is on a Buddy 50. So if you have one of those, this part won't work. but you see where I notched it so the pigtail connector could pass to the inside of the seat bucket. I notched it with a Dremel-type tool.