Buddy 125 or Vespa LX150?

Discussion of the Genuine Buddy, Hooligan, Black Jack and other topics, both scooter related and not

Moderator: Modern Buddy Staff

Rokky

Buddy 125 or Vespa LX150?

Post by Rokky »

Need advice on the purchase of my first scooter.
I was all set to go for the Vespa 150 and then I heard about the Buddy 125 and now I'm not sure.
Is the Vespa worth the extra money over the Buddy?
Is the Buddy easy to service such as oil, oil filter, air cleaner changes and lubing?
The scooter will be driven in a rural area on fairly flat surfaces and maybe a small hill now and then.
The highest speed limit in my area is 55MPH.
I'm 6.0 ft tall and weigh 172. Which scooter would be the most comfortable to ride for someone my size?
I'm new to the scooter world so any info is great.
Dave

Re: Buddy 125 or Vespa LX150?

Post by Dave »

Rokky wrote:Need advice on the purchase of my first scooter.
I was all set to go for the Vespa 150 and then I heard about the Buddy 125 and now I'm not sure.
Is the Buddy easy to service such as oil, oil filter, air cleaner changes and lubing?
The scooter will be driven in a rural area on fairly flat surfaces and maybe a small hill now and then.
I'm 6.0 ft tall and weigh 172. Which scooter would be the most comfortable to ride for someone my size?
IMO, the Buddy is a better value. Buddy is about $1500 cheaper. With proper maintenance, you should be able to get the same mileage out of either scooter. Having ridden both, I think the Buddy has better throttle response, smoother acceleration and better braking feel.

Someone correct me if I'm wrong here but I believe the Buddy has a better warranty too. 2 years vs 1 year???.

The Buddy is easier to maintain. Air filter, oil filter and spark plug are easier to get to on the Buddy. Although the Vespa air filter is washable, which is kinda nice. They both use the same over-priced oil filter.