125 vs. Blackjack?

Discussion of the Genuine Buddy, Hooligan, Black Jack and other topics, both scooter related and not

Moderator: Modern Buddy Staff

DineshD

125 vs. Blackjack?

Post by DineshD »

Hello everyone, first of all i want to thank everyone for all the great information on these forums.

Im a student in Southern California and recently decided to get a scooter because my car is bankrupting me. I started looking into Vespas about two months ago and loved the GTS 300 - but i soon realized that a Vespa would be way outta my price range. I wanted to get a 200cc+ scooter to do some highway driving but i cannot find any I like besides the GTS.

I have settled on a Buddy. Ive found a route to school and i can take regular streets that would be a nice 20 minute ride.

Here's my dilemma:

I hear the Buddy 125 is actually faster than the Blackjack? I think what i read was the 125 was faster off the line than the Blackjack. Is this correct, do i really need to spend the extra cash for a Blackjack or should i just get a 125?

Thanks in Advance
Kaos

Post by Kaos »

Yes, thats correct. The Blackjack will get to it's top speed a hair quicker, but the 125 is a bit faster off the line due to it having a longer stroke which gives it a bit more lower end torque than the 150 powered Buddys.
ericalm
Site Admin

Post by ericalm »

Hi, Dinesh,

Not that I'm trying to talk you out of a Buddy, but just out of curiosity, what 200cc+ models did you look at?

Since you're in LA, consider heading over to NoHo Scooters. They carry Genuine, but also Kymco and SYM, which have good larger models at far less than GTS prices.
Eric // LA Scooter Meetup Group // Stella 4T // Vespa LX // Vespa LXS // Honda Helix // some, uh, projects…
pyrocpu

Post by pyrocpu »