Bleeding front brake

Discussion of the Genuine Buddy, Hooligan, Black Jack and other topics, both scooter related and not

Moderator: Modern Buddy Staff

PIStaker

Bleeding front brake

Post by PIStaker »

I recently replaced my stock tires for some whitewalls and painted my rims.
Upon putting the front disc brake on, I noticed a drastic difference in the distance my brake lever travels.
I am going to bleed the brakes tomorrow, but do I need special "Buddy" brake fluid or will standard automotive brake fluid suffice?
And oh yeah. Any tips on bleeding the brakes? I've never done it before.
I understand the concept, just never done it myself.
My father in law who is an automotive repair wiz will be on hand to do most of the work, if not all. Is there anything special to watch out for, or is it pretty straight forward for someone who has done automotive brakes before?
Am I looking at a trip to Harbor Freight for any of these?

http://www.harborfreight.com/catalogsea ... rake+bleed

Thanks as always for the advice.
Lostmycage
FAQ Moderator

Post by Lostmycage »

It's pretty straight forward with a single caliper system. Pull the headset plastic off to get to the reservoir. Make sure the reservoir doesn't empty and use the vacuum pump. Use fresh fluid, you know... all the usual stuff. :)

Also, as much as I love Harbor Freight, go to Autozone and buy their "OEM" Brand Brake vacuum bleeder, it's a repackaged Mitivac (it's on the handle plain as day) for a fraction of the cost. Actually, it's a fraction of the cost of an Official Mitivac set - I think it was around the $25-$30 range.

You might as well check the tension on the rear brake while you're at it. The procedure should be in the Service Manual (check the FAQ section under General Maintenance).
Check out :arrow: Scoot Richmond's new site: My awesome local shop.
PIStaker

thx

Post by PIStaker »

LMC,
Thanks for the info. I will go the autozone route as suggested.