Keeping it real...

Discussion of the Genuine Buddy, Hooligan, Black Jack and other topics, both scooter related and not

Moderator: Modern Buddy Staff

michelle_7728

Keeping it real...

Post by michelle_7728 »

All of us on this forum have decided to take this risk, and enjoy riding...this is NOT to change anyone's mind...I'm thinking more like the beginning of the Proficient Motorcycling book...stuff you don't always hear, but which is very good to keep in mind so that you are always at your observant best when riding.

http://trafficsafety.org/safety/sharing ... fatalities

http://ask.metafilter.com/45318/Scooter ... otorcycles

http://www2.journalnow.com/news/2008/ju ... ar-109442/
JHScoot

Post by JHScoot »

The best thing to do, if you are interested, is take a course like that offered by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation. Statistics show that people who learn to ride through a course like this, instead of being self taught, have a significantly lower accident rate

Ok then. I will take the course despite already having an M1. Although I have read, studied, ride well and with full faculties both mind and body, I will see what it has to offer.

But I must say this is scooter riding. I am not trying to learn how to ride a MC, as I never will ride one. I have read the MSF course booklet a few times, the DMV handbook a few times, and have had SEE down pat as IPDE (Identify, predict, decide, execute) since the age of 16. I have never been in an accident caused by me or otherwise, but I have avoided plenty in cage and on bike. Oh, I went down on slippery stuff once at 30mph. Would have happened with or w/o taking MSF, pretty sure.

So, what is left to learn that will save me? I hope it's worth my 2 days and $250.

Also, I wonder if that stat is relative? I mean less riders crash who have taken the course? But I would bet most people haven't taken it. So more people crash who haven't.