Scooter won't start

Discussion of the Genuine Buddy, Hooligan, Black Jack and other topics, both scooter related and not

Moderator: Modern Buddy Staff

Pflower001

Scooter won't start

Post by Pflower001 »

So, I went back to work this month (teacher here) which sadly means I haven't given my pink princess road time in about a month. I went to ride her and she wouldn't start. I have never had this problem. She turns over but won't catch. I took out the battery and charged it and she still won't start. What to do?
phatch

Post by phatch »

Hey, I'm a teacher, too! :)

This same thing literally just happened to me today. Know what it took to get it started? I opened up that hatch in the pet carrier and wiggled tubing around with my left hand while holding the brake, hitting the starter and pulling the throttle with my right hand. For whatever reason, it started.

You might want to check your spark plug, though...? Pics here:
viewtopic.php?t=20718&highlight=spark+plug+cap
PIStaker

Post by PIStaker »

Unscrew the spark plug. Plug it back into the cable. Hold it next to the frame and hit the starter.
Are you getting spark?
Could be as simple as that.

Was it having a hard time idling before this happened?
It could be the stator.
pdxrita

Post by pdxrita »

Try giving it a little gas while you're cranking and be persistent - don't give up too quickly. She might just need a bit of encouragement. Just make sure you are either on the scooter, or that it's on the center stand with the back tire off the ground while you do that. You don't want her to go lurching forward when the engine kicks in.

(Thanks for being teachers, pflower and phatch!)
Pflower001

Post by Pflower001 »

Oh dear Jesus! I am such a girl, this looks veeeeery complicated!
Pflower001

Post by Pflower001 »

Phatch, what do you teach?
phatch

Post by phatch »

Pflower001 wrote:Phatch, what do you teach?
Music! And you?
Pflower001

Post by Pflower001 »