DOT From Asia? (Japanese street fashion and scooter gear)

Discussion of the Genuine Buddy, Hooligan, Black Jack and other topics, both scooter related and not

Moderator: Modern Buddy Staff

buttercreamsunshine

DOT From Asia? (Japanese street fashion and scooter gear)

Post by buttercreamsunshine »

Hi everyone~

I want to buy a helmet from overseas... maybe Japan, China, or Korea? I just can't find anything my style here. This includes all other gear as well, but as for helmets, I want to make sure it's DOT approved for safety and legal reasons, of course. Does anyone know anything about this?

Thanks!

Kara xx
Last edited by buttercreamsunshine on Thu Jan 31, 2013 12:24 am, edited 1 time in total.
jdanderson1449

Post by jdanderson1449 »

I do believe that the USDOT has finally accepted the Euro standard also. I'm not an expert in that though so I'd still check the statutes where you live. Happy hunting!
slotrod65

Post by slotrod65 »

As far as NY state is concerned, a helmet must have a DOT sticker to be officially legal. Each state is different.
Lokky

Post by Lokky »

slotrod65 wrote:As far as NY state is concerned, a helmet must have a DOT sticker to be officially legal. Each state is different.
does that require out of state riders to have one as well? I have so far only found a single DOT modular that will fit my head and it's not a very good cruising helmet. I was hoping to expand into the european/japanese markets for helmets they get and we don't.
jdanderson1449

Post by jdanderson1449 »

They're sticklers here too. I ride everything with a 3/4 while in town. I kind of loathe putting on my Icon. It's too heavy and makes my neck hurt on long rides. Gonna spring for an Arai as soon as I pay my current bill off...
slotrod65

Post by slotrod65 »