STELLA LED Turn Signal and tail light installation

The original 2-stroke Genuine scooter and its 4-stroke manual and automatic offspring

Moderator: Modern Buddy Staff

slotrod65

STELLA LED Turn Signal and tail light installation

Post by slotrod65 »

SWAPPING STOCK REAR TURN SIGNALS FOR LEDS:

I felt that the turn signal lights on my Stella 4T were a bit anemic, so I wanted to change the stock incandescent bulbs to LEDs. I have never done this before, and found that information on this mod was a bit sparse, so I decided to document my experience to share with others.

The first thing I did was to identify what incandescent bulbs came stock in the Stella. The front bulbs are accessible via the glovebox, an the rears are easily accessed by removing the two screws holding the turn signal lens. I found that both stock bulbs are 7507s with amber colored glass. Now I could search for LEDs...

One of the threads I found mentioned this website: http://autolumination.com/ as a source for LEDs.

I entered 7507 in the search box, and then used the FIND function of my browser to search for available LED bulbs. As maximum visibility was my goal, I decided on the on the 7507 PY21W Tower European Bulbs with 60 High Powered Wide Angle SMT LEDS. At $19.99 each, I decided to get a pair of them and see how they worked out.

About a week later, I received my LEDs. The first thing I did was to remove the stock lens and bulb from one side:

Once the rear lens was off, a gentle push and a counter clockwise twist was all that was needed to remove the stock bulb:

Next, I compared the two bulbs. I wanted to be sure the new LEDs would fit in the same space as the old incandescent bulb: I was pleased to see that they were the same size:

The LED went back in as easy as pie:

Before buttoning it all up, I tested the signal to be sure it would work: