Overriding my lights?

Discussion of the Genuine Buddy, Hooligan, Black Jack and other topics, both scooter related and not

Moderator: Modern Buddy Staff

GamerMontu

Overriding my lights?

Post by GamerMontu »

I'm new to scooter riding, so I've only now begun to ride at night. Maybe my headlight is fine and I'm just being paranoid, but it seems like even at moderate speeds (30-40 mph) I'm overriding the light. Does anyone else have this problem, or am I just underestimating how good my light is?
scootERIK

Post by scootERIK »

Low beam, high beam or both?

You might need to adjust the angle of the headlight.

Before I adjusted mine I could only see 1 second ahead at 25 mph with the low beam, needless to say I hardly ever turned the highbeam off.
TVB

Post by TVB »

The headlight on the Buddy is ... not very powerful. If I'm in a situation where there are no (or not enough) streetlights, and not a lot of other traffic, I switch the headlight to "high".
Steve S

Post by Steve S »

I replaced the OEM bulb with a PIAA bulb from Amazon. Pricey but worth it--much better illumination at night and very much more visible in daylight.
gr8dog

Post by gr8dog »

The stock bulb the Buddy is sold with should be considered a crime. It is pitiful. I switched to an H4, or is it an H3. Anyway, the lighting distance more than doubled. You can also adjust the angle of the light. At night I keep my bright on all the time. I know, unsafe, right? I don't think so. My single Buddy light is no where near as bright as automobile headlights. I've never had anybody "flash" me to dim my light.
GamerMontu

Post by GamerMontu »

Yes, the high beam is much better, but I didn't want to flash anyone. Glad to know I don't have to worry about that.
bluebessie

Post by bluebessie »

I also ride with my high beam on. I do briefly turn it off at intersections while I am stopped, but most of the time I just use it.