First Time Buyer Advice

Discussion of the Genuine Buddy, Hooligan, Black Jack and other topics, both scooter related and not

Moderator: Modern Buddy Staff

Wingscribe

First Time Buyer Advice

Post by Wingscribe »

Hello all,

I've been lurking here and on several other boards through this long, cold winter, getting my ducks in a row to get into the two-wheeled world of powered vehicles.

I've been back and forth over which made or model of scoot to get (refreshing the craigslist page hourly...not obsessing at all, right?).

Today's search came up with this:

https://cincinnati.craigslist.org/mcy/4949406662.html

2009 International Pamplona 150, just under 7K on the clock.

I think this might be the one, but I am new to all of this, so I pose the question to you nice folk:

What should I be looking for?

The pics look pretty good to my (admittedly) untrained eye, but I might be distracted by all of the mounted accessories (most of which I would purchase myself in due time).

The seller says that it needs an oil chance, which does not seem like a big deal, but are there other things that I should be checking out before taking the plunge?

Any advice you have would be very much appreciated as I try to keep my excitement contained.

Thanks in advance,

Mike
Dooglas

Post by Dooglas »

Mike. are you a scooter rider? If so, then a test ride is what will tell you whether a particular model of scooter might be "the one". If you are not a rider and this is all new to you, then I suggest you start out with an MSF basic course. Find out if riding is for you and get a better idea what kind of ride you may prefer.
Wingscribe

Post by Wingscribe »

Dooglas,

I am completely new to scooters/motorcycles. The MSF Course is something I will be taking without question. There is one in coming up in April near my home, specific to scooters, but that one is BYOS. If I have made a purchase before then, I will use that one in the class.