Buddy Scooter 150cc Deal or no deal?

Discussion of the Genuine Buddy, Hooligan, Black Jack and other topics, both scooter related and not

Moderator: Modern Buddy Staff

kenniepark

Buddy Scooter 150cc Deal or no deal?

Post by kenniepark »

Hi everyone,

I'm new to the scooter world and need your help! The owner agreed to sell me the Genuine 150cc for $1500. Is this a good deal?

Link: http://boston.craigslist.org/nwb/mcy/5006245272.html

I asked about why he's selling it, how he ran it in, if he has maintenance records and so forth but am I missing something else?

Your help is greatly appreciated! Thanks.
Wingscribe

Post by Wingscribe »

Welcome Kennie!

I was in your place two months ago, a 2009 Buddy 150. I checked it out and cut a deal with some help from the nice folks here.

Another note, what is "very low" for the mileage?

When you see it, check the tires for tread, rot and hte body for scratched or rust.

Price looks great to me (I had to haggle a little bit to get to a similar figure, but I am far from the best at that).

I'm sure others will chime in with more advice, and you should listen to them far more than you listen to me...

Have fun!

Mike
Dooglas

Post by Dooglas »

Wingscribe wrote:When you see it, check the tires for tread, rot and the body for scratches or rust.
After 6 years and only about 1,000 miles, those are probably the original tires. I would plan on changing them out if you purchase the bike. Tires only last so long regardless of wear. The body panels are plastic so they don't rust, but can be damaged, of course. Fortunately, panels for the Buddy are inexpensive. In Boston (or other places where the streets are salted), it is smart to check the metal frame and other metal parts for rust. I'd say the price is reasonable so long as condition looks good, bike starts and runs fine, and maintenance history looks like regular servicing has been done.
kenniepark

Post by kenniepark »