Newbie here

Discussion of the Genuine Buddy, Hooligan, Black Jack and other topics, both scooter related and not

Moderator: Modern Buddy Staff

Oaken007

Newbie here

Post by Oaken007 »

Hey everyone!!

I admit I have been lurking for about a week, but have been registered so I thought I would introduce myself today, because I want to finally start talking.

I do not have a Buddy yet. I know, it's a shame. I plan to buy a Buddy soon. Italia.

I have been debating on what I will use the scooter for. I would like it to be everyday transportation or every other day transportation to and from work and around. I would also like to take trips with it to the West Coast of FL. Keep in mind I live in South Florida. Traffic is a tad under NYC. Especially in Miami. Here is where I have my concerns...

I won't have to worry about weather too much, as it is mostly hot here but it is sometimes rainy. I am very nervous that the chances of getting into an accident are 100%. From what I'm reading, it seems everyone has crashed.

Right now, myself, I have a humongous bruise on both of my calves. One is the size of a baseball. In the Bahamas two weeks ago, I almost hit a car right in front of a police station on a scooter. LOL I braked so hard the scooter started to fall onto its side (I wasn't going very fast) and I caught it with my leg. The other bruise is from holding onto the back of someone on the scooter. I am 5'2" about 160lbs very strong muscles for a little chick.

But guess what? I was hooked.

And so started the search and find of the Buddy. Happy to introduce myself to everyone! Nice to meet you.

I plan to be very safe and careful, but worried about accidents. Anyone in South FL? And can anyone tell me about their fears riding or getting into accidents and how you got over that.
maribell

Post by maribell »

Welcome to the board!!

As far as accidents are concerned, it's just part of the territory. There are some measures you can take to minimize it though.